RSS

Award Winning Story Rewarded

28 Feb

The short story Why Me? by Rogue Michael Ray King won first place in the Royal Palm Literary Awards for best unpublished short story in October 2010. Early this month the story was included in the Kindle release of the short story collection More Writing is Easy put out by ClearView Press Inc.

More Writing is Easy came about from short stories that did not make the larger collection Writing is Easy because of timing issues. This inexpensive collection ($2.99) shows off some excellent writing chops. Beware of Rip Tides (Rogue Jeff Swesky) will make your eyes water with laughter. A couple other stories by Rebekah Hunter Scott deliver top quality short story reads.

Why Me? is an attempt by Michael to write something sexy. Here’s his take on the writing of the story:

“I had written a number of short stories with intimate love scenes, attempting to get a little more ‘base’ than I typically write. I got tired of people telling me my love scenes were very ‘tastefully done’. I suppose that is a compliment, but what I was looking for was something a bit more gritty. Not graphic, gratuitous sex, but sex with an edge. I’ll never forget the first reading of Why Me?. Tracy was sitting across from me and a couple paragraphs in she started fanning herself and halfway through she was blushing. I couldn’t have been more pleased. I finally nailed down a sexy story that had some punch. The funny thing is, I chickened out on putting the story in the book “Writing is Easy”. Then a friend who’d read it encouraged me to enter it in the RPLA’s. I did it on a whim. When they announced it took top honors in the Unpublished Short Story category – the toughest category to win in my opinion, you could have knocked me over with a silk teddy. That award and the RPLA for my book Fatherhood 101 are beyond special. Sometimes I have to take the award out and look at it to reassure myself it wasn’t a dream.”

You can get your copy of More Writing is Easy from Kindle

MORE Writing is Easy

or directly from ClearView Press Inc.’s site as a PDF download. Either way, you’ll get a face-full of the Rogues Gallery Writers that you’ll never forget. We believe it’s always rewarding when excellent fiction gets published. In Why Me?‘s case, the reward got doubled…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in The Rogues Gallery Writers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
