RSS

A Life Trifecta!

21 Feb

On a good day, I get to ride my bicycle to work (about 9 miles). The combination of exercise, music (iPhone) and fresh air lifts my spirit even on the worst of days. I’ve ridden most of my life, the past 27 years on my trusty Fuji. I bought the bike in 1983 on the spur of the moment with my little sister.

We popped into a bike shop on Oberlin Road in Raleigh, North Caroline looking for vehicles to work off the stress of our lives. I hovered over less expensive bicycles but the shop owner talked me into the ‘low end’ Fuji, ‘low end’ being $200. That was a lot of money to me back then but I took the chance.

The bicycle survived a number of relationships and a couple marriages as well as a couple years of neglect. A number of tune-ups and a new sprocket chain (three months ago) have kept this bike running and on the roads. From chunky cassette decks to Walkmans, MP3 players and now an iPhone, the Fuji almost feels analog in a digital world.

But isn’t that the charm? Three of my favorite things (cue Julie Andrews and The Sound of Music…) are writing, bicycling and music. A few days ago I rode a wonderful 3 mile bike path at dusk with my iPhone cranked. No one was out walking – I owned the path. The music got good to me too.

As shadows tumbled around me and melody and lyrics caressed the right side of my brain, I felt the overwhelming urge to write. Write? Here? Hell yeah! I have an iPhone. I’ve ridden with no hands since I was six. Why not?

I pulled out the phone, keyed up the notepad and went to town. By the time I got home, two poems were born, my heart was soothed by incredible tunes delivered by the greatest musicians of our time and the positive endorphins flew through my body like winged angels – my ultimate trifecta!

Euphoria = Exercise. Music. Creativity. No wonder the only good comparison I know is good sex. Next time though, I need to make it home before dark. That trip through the wet concrete may have been avoided had I possessed more distance visibility…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in The Rogues Gallery Writers

 

Leave a Reply

 
